USA Softball Umpire National Indicator Fraternity

National Indicator Fraternity 

This reward program has been available to USA Softball umpires since 1986. It was originally started as a program for those umpires who have been assigned and officiated in three National Championships, but did not qualify or gain approval for World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) certification. Today it is considered the highest level reward program for USA Softball umpires, not including the National Softball Hall of Fame Umpire classification or WBSC certification.

The applicant must have been a USA Softball registered umpire for at least seven (7) years, but does not have to be currently active. To qualify the umpire must have umpired or served as a National Championship Umpire-in-Chief (UIC) or Assistant UIC for three nationals, or can substitute attendance at a USA Softball Advanced Umpire School for one of the nationals. Approval by the local Commissioner and the Regional UIC is mandatory for acceptance. The cost is $25.00 and the umpire receives a certificate, membership card, luggage tag and a lapel pin.

The program is popular for those umpires who have advanced to the next level, and as a result have umpired in three nationals. It is a select group, considering that there are nearly 50,000 umpires nationwide. Applications must be received by Dec. 1st of each year in order for your name to be listed at the National Hall of Fame and printed annually in the USA Softball Umpire Manual.  Print the application here: 2018NIFApplication


Colorado Umpire National Indicator Fraternity

NameCityOrganizationYear Awarded
Chuck AllenPagosa Springs, COColorado1995
Jim BagwellDurango, COColorado2006
Glenda BatesThornton, COColorado2000
Mark BeemanColorado Springs, COColorado2000
Arthur “Don” BennettMontrose, COColorado1998
Michael L. BradyFt. Collins, COColorado1988
C. James CieminskiAurora, COColorado1995
Bridget CollinsLakewood, COColorado2006
Michael EngelArvada, COColorado2009
Steve ErtzbergerLittleton, COColorado1993
Charlie FlowersDenver, COColorado1998
Virgil FreyGrand Junction, COColorado1986
Jim GeorgeBroomfield, COColorado2005
James GochenourAurora, COColorado2003
Terry GreggDenver, COColorado1993
Gordon “Chris” HillArvada, COColorado2005
Stephen R. HinesDenver, COColorado2000
Larry L. HoodPueblo, COColorado1986
Matt JohnsonDenver, COColorado2014
Judy JohnstonLafayette, COColorado1998
Edwin Jones, Jr.Ft. Collins, COColorado1996
Jack KiplingerColorado Springs, COColorado2005
Donna KraftDenver, COColorado1996
David LittleFort Collins, COColorado1993
Gene R. LittleAurora, COColorado1998
Curt LoomisLittleton, COColorado2001
Dave LopezColorado Springs, COColorado1998
Calvin MartinPueblo, COColorado2013
Ronald L. MartinLongmont, COColorado1991
James McKinleyColorado Springs, COColorado2001
David NeidlingerAurora, COColorado1986
James W. OakesAurora, COColorado1991
Gregory L. PhelanPeyton, COColorado2000
Jim PierceLittleton, COColorado1993
Kathy PixleyDurango, COColorado1998
Michael “Mickey” PopejoyWestminster, COColorado1998
Richard A. ReiningerBrighton, COColorado1988
Charles RendonPueblo, COColorado2000
Daniel RingsbyArvada, COColorado2003
Ronald E. RoachAurora, COColorado1998
Joe SammonColorado Springs, COColorado1986
Frank M. SchoengarthWestminster, COColorado1995
Lawrence R. ScuttAurora, COColorado1994
Robert SmokerLakewood, COColorado1993
Curtis SnowArvada, COColorado1993
Raymond R. StewartGrand Junction, COColorado1995
William SturdevantLittleton, COColorado1994
Lynn SunaharaDenver, COColorado1996
David TaylorAurora, COColorado2000
Robert L. WarmouthAurora, COColorado1990
N. Earl WarrenAurora, COColorado1997
George WhiteAurora, COColorado1988
Beth YaconoAurora, COColorado1996